Home Contact Links Jobs
Introduction Admissions Programs People Research Community Outreach News & Seminars
6 August 2021
Welcome New Faculty Members
The Department of Physics is proud to welcome three new faculty members:

Assistant Professor Berthold Jäck obtained his diploma degree with distinction from Würzburg University, Germany in 2011 and his Dr. sc. in physics from the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland in 2015. Prior joining HKUST, he was a postdoctoral fellow of the Alexander-von-Humboldt foundation at Princeton University. His research interest in centered around the microscopic investigation of correlated and topological electronic phases in low-dimensional quantum materials. 

Assistant Professor Hoi Chun (Adrian) Po received his Bachelor's degree in Physics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Ph.D. in Physics at the Harvard University. He was a Pappalardo Postdoctoral Fellow in Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology before joining HKUST. His main research interest is condensed matter theory, and in particular on the interplay between symmetries and topology in quantum materials.

Associate Professor Sen Yang received his Bachelor's degree in Physics at Tsinghua University in Beijing, and Ph.D. in Physics at the University of California, San Diego. Prior to joining HKUST, he was a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Texas at Austin and subsequently at the University of Stuttgart. Most recently, he was also an assistant professor in the Chinese University of Hong Kong. His research interest is quantum optics based on solid-state systems, and in particular developing quantum information technologies with nitrogen vacancy centers in diamond.